IGNORED

Bally War - First Look

riffraff

Bally War - First Look

I'm putting the finishing touches on my first homebrew game, War for the Bally Astrocade. I've included a movie to get a good idea of how it plays, although the movie's frame-rate is a bit slower than the actual game.

I am hoping to have this finished by the end of November. I need to make some labels and possibly a manual.

Homebrew comes to the Bally Astrocade!

Wow, that looks fantastic! Congratulations!

Is there any sound? The movie doesn't appear to have any?

..Al

Thanks!

There are basic sounds, noises for shield collision, wall collision, and player-death-explosion.

Sound is really my weakest area but I plan for some really cool music and sound for the next project.

edit: Also, I'm new at doing this movie stuff, so I don't know why sounds weren't included. I'm using camstudio thanks to Random Terrain giving me the link to this freeware product.

Edited by riffraff

Thx Spice! I decided with warlords as the first game mostly because it was something I understood, seemed to work well with the Bally's bitmap-graphic display, and could be played 4-player. With only an 8k cart, I could not fit the bells & whistles that MM has in terms of different game modes (team play etc) or the spiffy end-round animations. Used only 2 frames of a 4-color dragon, and no special menus etc. I think a lot of the original bally games were light on a lot of this kind of stuff so it doesn't stand out too much that these features aren't there. In the beginning of the project I was thinking "wow I could probably fit a couple of these kind of games into 8k the way it's going". At the end of the game it was "Crap, get rid of the difficulty setting idea for cpu because we need a couple hundred more bytes to fit in a critical feature".