IGNORED

Brainstorming: Pharaoh's Curse 2600

Cybergoth

Hi there!

So this weeks question is: "How about doing Pharaoh's Curse for the 2600?"

I've been researching some material regarding it and it sure looks interesting. You're exploring a tomb made out of 16 screens, all with different treasures and obstacles. Here's what I have in hands so far:

Lemon64 link for the C64 version:

http://www.lemon64.com/games/details.php?ID=1923

Atarimania link for the A8 version:

http://www.atarimania.com/detail_soft.php?...VERSION_ID=3937

A youtube video of the VIC-20 version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dH8LnPzp0E

A youtube video of the A8 version:

A longplay video of the C64 version:

http://www.c64-longplays.de.vu/

A map of all 16 screens for the A8 version:

http://mapy.atari8.info/p-r/pharaohscurse.png

I'm no expert on this game, so I need help!

Are there any Pharaoh's Curse experts here? Is it doable on the 2600? What are the essential bits of the game? What would be difficult to replicate on the 2600? How would it look like?

Greetings,

Manuel

I'm no expert on this game, so I need help!

Are there any Pharaoh's Curse experts here? Is it doable on the 2600? What are the essential bits of the game? What would be difficult to replicate on the 2600? How would it look like?

I loved this game when I was a kid. I'd love to see a theoretical 2600 port, but I don't think it's very realistic. Pharaoh's Curse plays a lot like Montezuma's Revenge, but with some extra complications that could make it hard to port:

• The screen layouts are much more complex and highly asymmetric.
  • In addition to the player and static enemies, there're arrows that fly in from the side of the screen, the pharaoh, a mummy, and a bird that will carry you to random rooms. All four of these things appear randomly, and any combination of these things can be on the screen at any given time.