IGNORED

Crimson Editor output with DASM

Omegamatrix

Hey all,

Is there a way to add a tool in Crimison Editor that will have DASM compile a .asm file and output a .bin with or without a .lst? Right now I have:

"$(FilePath)" -f3 -o"$(FilePath).bin" -l"$(FilePath).lst"

This works if your intial file is just a "file" without a specified extension. If your file does have an extension though like example.asm you would get example.asm.bin and example.asm.lst when you use the tool. I started playing around with the other options like FileName and FileTitle but then it started saving stuff in my DASM folder, and usually as a 0k file. :ponder: I really want to use the GUI and click the tool button as it's quick and I'm already there. I could write a batch file to change the extension names after it compiles I guess but how do you guys do it?

Okay I found a way to do it. I copied the macro.h and VCS.h files into the folder I'm storing my assemblies in, and changed the intial dir to use $(FileDir) instead of my old path. Then I used this for my arguement:

"$(FilePath)" -f3 -o"$(FileTitle).bin" -l"$(FileTitle).lst"

This works good now and I can have all my files start as .asm and end with .bin or .lst :)

Edited by Omegamatrix

Is there a way to add a tool in Crimison Editor that will have DASM compile a .asm file and output a .bin with or without a .lst?

Yes, you can have one tool that generates a listing when it compiles, and another tool that doesn't. I always just generate a listing, because they come in so useful when you need to track down a bug-- although they do tend to fill up the directory with extra files! :D

Right now I have:

"$(FilePath)" -f3 -o"$(FilePath).bin" -l"$(FilePath).lst"