IGNORED

Brainstorming: Atari 2600 RPG

vdub_bobby

I have two possible big 2600 projects that I'd like to make progress on this year; one of them is an RPG.

I'd like to get some comments from you guys on what you'd like to see in a 2600 RPG. I'm not looking for super-technical ideas (though those are welcome :)); I'm more looking for game design preferences/ideas/etc.

Example questions to consider:

-What kind of combat engine would you like to see?

-How long of a game would you like?

-Do you want something very open-ended or more linear?

-Acknowledging the tradeoffs necessary with the 2600, would you like a game with 500 different monsters and a 1000 items or a game with fewer enemies and fewer items but a ton of story (read: text)?

-What kind of experience system do you like?

And so on.

The idea here is that the platform is 30 years old, but there's no reason the game can't take advantage of all the RPG innovations of the last 20 years. :) As I'm not an RPG expert, I hope that the collective wisdom of you folks could fill in the blanks.

So, fire away.

What kind of combat engine would you like to see?

Can we ask for anything? My ideal is a Dragon Warrior style close up of the enemies, one on screen at a time, so that all of the VCS's limited resources are given to the graphic. Scrolling between the enemies could take place by pushing left or right, so that the player has to watch out for their blind spots - the idea is to turn a handicap in the hardware into a design feature...

How long of a game would you like?

How long of a game can you create without adding filler?

Do you want something very open-ended or more linear?

Linear. We know a Western style RPG can be done on the hardware. But can an Atari VCS programmer intentionally make a player laugh or cry? I'd love to see someone try.