IGNORED

8BitDomain ColecoVision A/V Mod Experience

Ikrananka

I recently bought a new 37" LCD TV and found that my main CV's composite mod (done by doubledown around 3 years ago) was causing the top quarter of the screen to badly flicker on certain games (only does it on some TVs and some games and not others!!!!). I have had an 8BitDomain ColecoVision A/V & BIOS mod board waiting to be installed for over 3 months and became incentivised to get the mod installed in my spare CV to see how it performed and to see if the screen flickering occurred, i.e. was my new TV faulty!!

Installation was pretty straight forward except desoldering the existing BIOS chip was a real bugger. I'm a novice at soldering but after persevering, a good overnight sleep, and lots of desoldering wick I managed to do it. Finished the installation and tested with the following results (check out the attached file for screenshots):

Composite Video

Colours appear to be correct. Unfortunately there is a lot of blue and green colour bleed around white text and a lot of blurring around the edges of objects. These screenshots do not clearly show how some of the smaller, more detailed, onscreen objects are so blurred in appearance so as to make them unrecognisable. Note that the blurring is somewhat less on my 26" LCD TV. Interestingly the flickering experienced with my other CV does NOT occur with this mod.

S-Video

I cannot get s-video to display anything unless I also plug the composite cable into the TV as well as the s-video cable (into different inputs). The s-video screens are marred by coloured streaking to the right hand side of all graphics. Colours are generally wrong and white text looks multi-coloured due to colour bleed.

Component Video