IGNORED

RetroDuo NES/SNES clone mini review

I've commented in various places on this system, though there isn't a cohesive AA topic about it so I will create one here.

I'll start by saying that I've had extensive experience with other clones such as the NEX, Yobos, FCTwin, Blade, Power, etc. so I'm quite familiar with the usual clone limitations. That being said, here are some of my findings/thoughts on the new NES/SNES clone - the RetroDuo.

Pros:

- Many classic NOAC problem titles (such as Gauntlet) work correctly on the RD

- The NES PowerPak works on the RD - the only clone to date that does so. This is a HUGE plus.

- the RD does not seem to suffer from SNES NOAC problems (audio, colors i.e. Starfox)

- FX / DSP carts seem to work fine, at least the ones that I have.

- There is s-video output for both the NES and the SNES sides, though the NES s-video has a static 'interference pattern' present in it. Most users would probably choose the composite output which is clean and crisp. s-video and composite output are both active at the same time.

- Video output overall is better than the FCTwin

- Unit has a sturdy feel to it. It doesn't feel like it will twist apart like the Yobos.

- AC adapter is nice and compact, though the cord is a bit short

- NES cartridge recognition/bootup is excellent. Even titles that I previously had problems with (i.e. Archon) work fine and without having to mess about with them.

- Basic NES pad connected via a NES adapter wired to the RD's SNES conectors works fine in NES mode. NES Zapper is not supported.

- Supplied controllers work and feel good, though a bit stiff. Better than the FCTwin packins.

- Mode switch (8/16) is off centered, so cycling through the SNES side isn't necessary every time you want to play a NES cart

- My Tototek SNES flash cart works just fine on the RD. FCTwin also had no issues with it

- Nice small footprint. More compact than even the FCTwin.

Cons: