IGNORED

cc65 and page zero abuse.. any workaround?

xt5

hi,

this is my first post here, Im really new to the atari world, just got my first ever atari just 2 weeks ago :)

I've playing a little with cc65, the assembler and linker seems really good, but I've lot of problems with the compiler generated code.

first, I don't like to use page zero at all for temporal values and pointers, that is why I've done my own linker scripts and generate a nice exe without use the atari libs of the cc65 package :)

for example a simple code like this:

unsigned char data[211] = {
0x4A, 0x55, 0x45, 0x47, 0x4F, 0x31, 0x20, 0x44, 0x46, 0x53, 0x46, 0x00, 0x4A, 0x55, 0x45, 0x47, 
0x31, 0x37, 0x00
}; // global

unsigned char i; // global

for(i=0; i<sizeof(data); i++) data[i]-=0x20;

generate a very big and slow code that uses a page zero pointer, the code generated is

lda	 #$00
L0147:	sta	 _i
cmp	 #$D3
bcs	 L0122
lda	 #<(_data)
ldx	 #>(_data)
clc
adc	 _i
bcc	 L012C
inx
L012C:	sta	 ptr1
stx	 ptr1+1
ldy	 #$00
lda	 (ptr1),y
sec
sbc	 #$20
sta	 (ptr1),y
lda	 _i
clc
adc	 #$01
jmp	 L0147

the same code is generated either with -O, -Oi, -Or, -Os, -Oir, -Ois, -Ors

the code without optimization is even worse:

L0121:	ldx	 #$00
lda	 _i
cmp	 #$D3
jsr	 boolult
jne	 L0124
jmp	 L0122
L0124:	lda	 #<(_data)
ldx	 #>(_data)
clc
adc	 _i
bcc	 L012C
inx
L012C:	jsr	 pushax
ldy	 #$00
jsr	 ldauidx
sec
sbc	 #$20
ldy	 #$00
jsr	 staspidx
ldx	 #$00
lda	 _i
pha
clc
adc	 #$01
sta	 _i
pla
jmp	 L0121
L0122:

so Im very disappointed with this, as I've to tweak 50% of the code generated, maybe Im just missing something :( because the code you would expect by that simple snippet is something that just avoid page zero *abuse* like this

ldy	 #$00	

loop:	
cpy	 #$D3
bcs	 L0130

lda	 _data,y
sec
sbc	 #$20
sta	 _data,y	
iny
jmp	 loop

that seems to be a very common issue on 6502 compilers as I've tested IAR one and seems also abuse zero page, also I've tested other one (can't remeber the name) and was even worse..