IGNORED

Experts needed ! Mangia NTSC found !

CPUWIZ

I got a box full of commons from eBay because I needed one semi rare cart in the lot. Well, it arrived today (after nearly 4 weeks). The item description had the usual, blah blah - untested and one mystery game without label. The picture was hell of blurry but I could tell that the cart I wanted was in there so I went for it.

So I am digging through the carts, plugging one after another into my 2600 until I came across this one. That's when I nearly had a heart attack.

Now my question is, prototype, the real deal or a really good fake ?

Take a look for yourself ...

MangiaFront.jpg

MangiaBack.jpg

MangiaInside.jpg

MangiaScreen.jpg

Anyone wanna buy my reproduction I was talking about in another thread, I don't need it anymore ?

:D

I'll help you out here a bit :-) I'm no proto expert, but I am a hardware expert so I'll tackle it from that end.

Here's what I make of it.

Printed on the back we can see three markings.

Spectravision (No Copyright or Trademark insignia, highly unusual, an inspection of another spectravision carts PCB would put this to rest)

HongKong (One of the few places in the world with no copyright laws, also the cheapest place to bulk order PCB's for cartridges)

2732 (4k EPROM - Could be pirate, could be Proto, most protos are EPROM)

No Label... Why? Perhaps it was just removed over time, but it's rare to see an entire label removed, UNLESS, someone wanted to get inside and change out the PCB.

We can also see the soldered pins of the EPROM and the required hex inverter, unimportant really however it proves that a 2732 EPROM is used.

So real deal is ruled out, an EPROM wouldn't be used with a real deal cart.

Proto or pirate... given the rarity of this game in the world, and the fact the PCB looks nothing like the A-Typical proto, I would have to wager a firm guess that this is pirate.