IGNORED

A dead Lynx needs your help, please!

hagbard

Hallo!

First I want to say that I'm a newbie to hardware problems....

I just bought a Lynx II at ebay, because of the carrying pouch. Included was a dead Lynx II (no lifesign).

I read the forum messages here and was very happy to see that this problem is known. I read that it would be a problem with a "Q12" (whatever that is) and opend the Lynx. I found a white rectangle on the board named Q12 and there is no part at all. It seems that there was a part, because of soldering signs there.

My question is what part must be there? What is it look like? Has anybody a photo of the lynx board as orientation?

I thank you all for your help!

Greets, hagbard!

Before you start to dig for the correct replacement you could test your Lynx by simply plugging in an external power supply and connect a wire from the power supply ground to the ground wire of the Lynx motherboard (eg. headphone-ground).

It should power up automatically without a need to press the Power On button.

Of course you need to have a cart inserted.

If the Lynx powers up then you need to do some shopping.

If it does not, then replacing Q12 won't help you.

The function of Q12 is to be the on/off switch. If you connect the ground of the power supply to the ground of the Lynx then the switch is bypassed with a wire. (It also means that your Lynx cannot be turned off).

It may sound strange that a on/off switch switches the - lead and not the + lead. Anyway that is how the Lynx works.

--

Karri

Hallo!

First I'd like to thank you for your hint! If I short circuit the powersupply ground with the earphone jack ground, the Lynx's backlight and the power LED turns on and I can hear a click from the speaker.

But the game doesn't start and I can't regulate the backlight or is that the way it is?

Has anybody an idea how to continue the resurrection or is the Lynx ready for the bin?

Greets, hagbard!

• 1 month later...