IGNORED

Game Idea: Frantic Freddie 2600

Feralstorm

Wheee, lookit the newbie buggin' people his first registered day! :)

Anyway, a favorite game of my Commodore 64 days has been Frantic Freddie. I seem to recall when tracking the game down for my C64 emulator that the original author had released it to the public domain (don't quote me on that though). After learning about the hefty Atari homebrew industry, I started thinking Freddie, being a rather simple game by C64 stadards, would translate to the 2600 quite well, and made a mockup screen based on my limited understanding of 2600 limits to illustrate the idea.

I'm not a programmer by any stretch, so I doubt I'd ever get anything like this made myself. I won't hold any delusions that coming in with a "hey talented programmers, do this!" would get any results, so I'll just ask the knowledgable folks here what the pitfalls are to making a game like this.

Frantic Freddie is a 'run around the screen collecting all the stuff without hitting the monsters' game, with some minor twists. It was hardly graphically taxing for a C64, so that shouldn't be too tough for a 2600. The main thing that set Frantic Freddie apart IMO was that it had buttloads of music - over ten tunes, some of considerable length - to the expense of almost any other sound effects. The music is what makes the game, and would seem to be the biggest envelope-pusher (if not breaker) for the 2600.

Anyone here remember Frantic Freddie? I'll answer any questions I can.

post-5896-1097836256_thumb.png

Hadn't played Fast Eddie before now, so I had to check that out. They do look very similar on the surface.