IGNORED

Podcast interview with Curt Vendel

Hey guys! I'm not very good at pimping my own stuff but I wanted to let you guys know of an interview my podcast is currently running.

I do a weekly internet radio show (and podcast) creatively titled The Bobby Blackwolf Show where we discuss the latest news and trends in the gaming industry, as well as reminiscing about gaming's history. I've always wanted to do MORE regarding classic gaming, but I admit that so far I haven't done too well on that front. (We interviewed The Brothers Chaps from Homestar Runner and I grilled them about Paul Slocum's Homestar Runner RPG, though!)

To make up for the lack of coverage, I'm airing (in it's entirety) a two part interview with Curt Vendel, which runs about 36 minutes total, discussing the Atari Flashback, Atari Flashback 2, and AtariMuseum.com. It's been really interesting for me and my listeners and it's quite evident that Curt is VERY passionate about keeping the memory of Atari alive through these projects. While some of what he discusses may not be news to THIS community, I think it's a fascinating tale of how the Flashbacks came to be.

The first part of the interview, 19 minutes long, was aired on the October 9th show (that's an mp3) and begins at roughly the 24 minute mark. This is where he discusses the backstory of the Flashback, what went right and what went wrong in both consoles, and what games were chosen and why.

The second part of the interview will be aired on the upcoming Sunday night show, with the archive available by the Monday morning commute. This is where he discusses things like the engineering behind getting the 2600 on a chip, and about the cartridge port modification.

I was really honored that Curt took time out of his Saturday afternoon to record this interview with us, and I hope that you guys enjoy it. I'll update this thread with a link to part two after I air it.