IGNORED

RealSports RACING

toymailman

Hi everybody! I have been a long time reader and this is my first post. I got back into collecting Atari 2600 in April (or so) and was pleased to see such a huge following alive in the on-line community.

I am an Electrical Engineer and have had some programming experience. As I played some of my favorite games again I began to wonder if I could create such things. After reading some of the great tutorials people have made I thought it might be possible. After a while, I was able to draw stuff on the screen (using Stella emulator), but actually coding a game, whew. It feels like an enormous leap from where I am currently at.

I see a HUGE learning curve to realize my goal, so I thought if I really thought my idea had merit I would ask all of you here; the experts! Mainly, I am wondering if someone here might like to take this project on who has already reached the top of the learning curve and could do an infinitely better job than me. I have read the “idea peddlers” topic and agree with it. Therefore, I have put a lot of work into this proposal and hope someone will take it on.

My idea is for a RealSports RACING game. I don't think it would be a "hack" of INDY 500 and that is why I am bringing it up in this forum rather than the hack forum. I think the graphics may have to be similar (??), but probably everything else would be redone from scratch. I think this fills a hole in the RealSports line up as a revised/enhanced racing game was not developed along with Football, Soccer, Tennis, etc.

I have a full write-up attached below with some worked up screen shots. I have tried to flesh out the ideas as best I can to see if people here think this project is worthwhile. A small listing of some basic enhancements are the following.

1) 4-player competition by use of paddle controllers

2) Lap Times and Race Results screen

3) Pit Stops / Refueling

4) Long races

5) Different tracks

6) Night driving