IGNORED

AtariVox software help required

Richard H.

As the AtariVox will soon be back in the AA store, I've been working on a new USB dev interface. It uses a FT232R USB UART chip, this allows it to power the AVox and also work with the SpeakJet dev software PhraseALator.

That bit works great.

I also have the EEPROM's SDA and SCL connected to 2 i/o's on the chip with a view to writing a utility to allow manipulation of the memory (for backup etc) (and also work with SaveKey).

Anyway, as I'm not good at software, I wonder if someone familar with C (and the FT232R) could help write this utility ?

Thanks...

As the AtariVox will soon be back in the AA store, I've been working on a new USB dev interface. It uses a FT232R USB UART chip, this allows it to power the AVox and also work with the SpeakJet dev software PhraseALator.

That bit works great.

I also have the EEPROM's SDA and SCL connected to 2 i/o's on the chip with a view to writing a utility to allow manipulation of the memory (for backup etc) (and also work with SaveKey).

Anyway, as I'm not good at software, I wonder if someone familar with C (and the FT232R) could help write this utility ?

Thanks...

I've been working on a project using a FT232R for a few months now. I'm too busy to contribute to your software directly, but if you need help with the chip, I'll be glad to give you advice. :)

Stupid question: How can you control the SpeakJet I/O Lines ? When I read through the Users Guide of the SpeakJet,

my first impression was, that these I/O Lines are controlled by writing to a EEPROM register.

Is there a different way to control these lines ? I mean you wouldn't want to write to the SpeakJet EEPROM each time you want to change the value of the I/O port.

I didn't spend much time to find out if there is a different way to control these I/Os via serial port commands. Have you found out, how this can be done ?