IGNORED

Possible Atari 2600 buzzer project?

Murph74

Hi guys-- I'm not a coder or programmer myself, but am aware of several of you being such. :) Here I am with an idea, and no knowledge of how to implement it.

I'm looking for a buzz-in type program for most likely the 2600. Simple, plain, and effective for my ultimate goal of using it for a lockout system on a trivia night. I know there are standalone systems out there, but they're not cost effective for me. This 'could' be a commercial project for someone, too, potentially.

The idea is simply to rewire a 2600 joystick to 5 individual handheld buzzer buttons (using left right up down and fire, up to 10 players between joystick ports 1 and 2), and either display a programmable question on the screen, then have it disappear and show who buzzed in when someone does buzz in, or jsut show who buzzed in first and leave it at that.

I would think the buzz in program would be simple enough to write for the right person-- that person just ain't me though. :) Also, a potential challenge would come in the form of how to use it physically. An Atari cartridge may add a certain coolness to it's use (we use a first response in tiebreaker situations only), but since we're a laptop based trivia night, a rom on an emulator would be just as effective along side my trusty Stelladaptor. Especially if a 'question' could be added with a hex editor or text editor to display onscreen, then disappear upon buzzing, to show who buzzed first and locked out the other players.