IGNORED

Fine Tune Heavy 2600 Picture -- over-saturated pic

SnapCraft

OK here's my situation. I have a over-saturated picture (like the color on the TV was turned all the way up). I've seen tons of "fuzzy" threads, but I don't think this is the same thing.

I have adjusted the white wheel (just changes the colors, doesn't tame the brightness). I guess I need to get the plastic hex tool from Radio Shack (?) to adjust the red/pink hex dial right underneath the cartridge slot. I have tried a different RF cable and I'm using the updated RF connection to the TV.

So some questions:

(1) Will adjusting the red/pink hex dial help it or is that just for sound?

(2) There is a hole in the RF metal box inside the 2600, should that be adjusted?

I'm not a novice, but I'm nowhere near the level some of you are talking. So keep it fairly simple please.

Oh yeah, I'd rather not (and can not) go composite or S-Video -- keep it authentic.

Thanks...

Ok, that helps. I suspect that it really is saturation. The sixers have a resistor between pins 6 and 9 of the TIA chip (620 Ohm IIRC) to boost the saturation. Most if not all other models omitted this resistor. You can increase the value of that resistor until you get an image that you like. I would recommend experimenting with a 100k pot to get an idea of what you like best. Then measure the pot's value and install a fixed resistor of that value (closest match). You can of course just remove the resistor all together with no problems for the least possible saturation level. But that always looks washed out to me.