IGNORED

ColecoVision Component Video Mod

Ikrananka

Over the past few years I have aspired to obtain a ColecoVision component video mod that works well on modern HD LCD TVs. Firstly I had hoped to buy one from Viking Video Games (doubledown) but unfortunately he has stopped supplying standard video modded CV's to order years ago. I then thought I'd try the 8bitdomain mod which, along with composite and s-video mods, includes a component video mod. I installed this mod around a year ago but unfortunately it didn't work well with my LCD TVs - posted my experience with it here. Discussed this with 8bitdomain who said that, in the near future, he would be releasing a new mod specifically designed for HD TVs - a year later and this has not materialised. So, I decided that the only way this is going to happen for me is to try and do it myself - problem is I have very little knowledge of electronic circuits - but I am handy with a soldering iron and a multimeter and reckon this should be a fun challenge :D

So over the past few months I have been doing as much research on the internet as I can and have found some very useful information. There are lot's of details describing how to do mods for composite and s-video but little tangible information about a component video mod. There are a few threads that discuss, or touch on, this subject but none of the ones I have found run to completion with any component video mod schematics and/or screen shots, e.g.:

http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2925

http://www.atariage.com/forums/index.php?s...05191&st=50