IGNORED

Duck Attack! - new Atari 2600 homebrew (NTSC & PAL)

e1will

2010-09-02 update: Duck Attack! is now complete: you can now find it in the Atari Age store.

Hello everyone!

First off I want to thank everyone on these forums (especially Nukey Shay, batari and supercat) for being so helpful whenever I've had questions. And I'd especially like to thank stephena for the work he's put into Stella; it's really a phenomenal emulator and a simply indispensable development tool.

I've been programming for many years, and I finally decided to take the plunge and attempt a homebrew game for the 2600, written in assembly from scratch. It's far enough along that I think it's ready to show people... I'd love to get some feedback on it, good or bad.

The game is called Duck Attack! and its premise is simple: collect radioactive duck eggs for points while avoiding giant, mutant, fire-breathing ducks.

I've written the first draft of a manual for it here, with some screenshots: http://willnicholes.com/duck

The game is about 60% done: 81 of the 135 planned rooms are in place, and you can get as far as Level 5. A few of the features listed in the manual aren't done yet (e.g. the pause feature) and I've still got a lot more features to put in (the big one is 'demo mode') but the basics are in place and (I think) working pretty well.

It's been a lot of hard work, but it's been pretty fun too. I hope you like it.

--Will

EDIT: Adding some screenshots. The latest binaries are here.

post-23222-126418690096_thumb.pngpost-23222-126473230676_thumb.pngpost-23222-126473239614_thumb.png

Edited by e1will

Any screenshots?

There are some on the manual page, but here's another.