IGNORED

Quantizator

ilmenit

OK, I'm not an expert in these techniques by far, but isn't it a bug anyway when converting a picture needs millions of steps & a lot of time? Even when the converter is running on PC?

You can compare this problem with the problem of a computer playing chess, where you need a really capable machine to beat a human.

- Chess has 64 fields with 32 pieces. Every move has consequences for the following move. Given a specific board layout, find the winning moves (the less the better).

- On a line basis, we have 160 positions and 8 'image'-values, where some of the image values (PMGs) can only cover discrete spans and have a reduced resolution and dependency to other image values (priority). We are only able to apply a fixed number of changes (position, image value, colour value etc.) per line, and every change has consequences for the following line. Find a combination of (register-) values for the complete image, where the visual difference to the original should be minimal.

Clearer?

I would expect such a tool to run a lot lot faster. Or did you use a slow compiler / interpreter programming language?

I checked also the assembly representation of the compiled core routines (the time consuming ones). Without a change of the algorithm, solving principle, there isn't much to get.

• Like 2

That darker pixels have - in no way- something to do with that basic hill climbing algorithm. There is a calculation bug happening, but emkay is the bad boy .... lol

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect

Halbwissen, gepaart mit Unvertändnis , unterstützt durch einen Link auf eine zu 80% korrekte Quelle, wobei der Inhalt am Thema vorbei zieht.

Ganz großes Kino.

Noch interessanter ist, dass du so einen Mist hier postest, nachdem meine Aussage bewiesen ist.

Edited by emkay

Is there any advantage in using a /s value >1 ? What sort of value should it be given, 10's,100's?