IGNORED

What exactly does scrolling speed have to do with cpu power?

What does the speed of a moving sprite or the scroll speed of a background have to do with cpu power?

My Thoughts - I'm no expert though...

Most early computers did not include a Hardware Scrolling capability.

Some relied on the CPU for all graphical output.

Plus scrolling means moving data in and out of memory which would use a lot of the CPU cycles in a system without DMA.

What about for sprites? I've been programming a multijointed sprite boss on the Super Nintendo (hence my username Multijointed Monster Maker), and I don't get it why people think there is a limit on how fast sprites can move around the screen due to the cpu being clocked at 3.58Mhz. You can render a sprite on one side of the screen one frame, and render the same sprite on the opposite side of the screen the next.

Well, in case of the videochip of the SNES, it is as easy as changing the registers of X and Y positions of a sprite. Even the shape is directly programmable.

This is not the case in general for any computer.

For example changing x-coordinate of a 'sprite' on Atari 8bit home computer is just a matter of changing one 8bit reg. But, changing y-coordinate of an object you'd need to manually (with CPU) move data around. So, sprites on A8 are really a mixture of software-sprites and hardware-sprites. Also, if you want to change the shape, you must manually change the sprite-gfx-data.

But, also in the world of softwaresprites many subtleties could arise. The x-coordinate of a SWSprite on a monochrome background could be bound to integer multiples of 8. Then you won't need to do bitshifts (ROL / ROR commands) when moving a sprite. It's up to the coder what to do now. He can hold all preshifted stuff in memory, or do a big CPU-grunt when any non-integer*8 type of x-co is needed.