IGNORED

School Project

dr. kwack

Bear with me here... I'm a Junior High science teacher. Taught science for the first three years of my career, then taught technology for seven, now I'm back in science.

I try to do as much hands on stuff with my kids as I can because IMHO it's the best (perhaps only) way to learn science skills, especially with the 7th/8th grade crowd.

We just started a new unit on Space. I've never had to teach it in the past but have always been interested in the material. I wanted to do a really cool project with my kids. It hit me the other day-

For its time, Activision's Space Shuttle was pretty sophisticated. I remeber it made a splash in schools when it came out- a video game that could teach!

Now for the past 11 years I have brought in my Atari 2600 at the end of the year/before Christmas break for the kids to play and they love it. It has become a tradition to play in my class- pretty much a demand.

I thought- wouldn't it be cool to build an enclosed "Flight Simulator" unit using Space Shuttle as my software. It's simple enough for the kids to use, although watered down (which is fine for 45 minute periods) it does give the sim experience, and it exposes them to classic games (a perk for me).

A fellow teacher who is good at woodworking is helping me build the enclosure, we have some pretty cool ideas and if all goes as planned, I will post our progress here when I can.

So far I am looking at the following details- Heavy Sixer simply because it has all switches on the front for easy access.

Captain style chair with a Spectravision style flightgrip stick mounted on the right arm.

Pretty much a simplified 1983 Atari Star Wars sit down model design with one open side for entry.

There are other ideas pending but this is a start. Hope it progresses!

Interesting! Hadn't considered sound. The few teachers/Atari fans I have discussed this with have offered many ideas that could potentially be added to future versions or modifications.