IGNORED

Bat Passer - a 2600 Homebrew

Steeler

This is my first post on this forum; hello!

I started learning Atari programming a little less than 2 weeks ago with Kirk Israel's pretty great tutorial. Since then, I've been working on this, and I think it's finished enough to post.

It runs on Stella. /*I tried running it on Z26 and the graphics jigged up and down* (and the colors looked pretty bad). I doubt it would run well on a real 2600, but if someone would try and tell me how it does, I'd appreciate it.*/ EDIT: This has been fixed.

Anyway, the game has 7 levels. It doesn't have a title screen, and whether you lose or win, you have to close the game and start it up again to restart.

*It's done this on Stella too if you lose the last level. I don't know why.

Version 1.1 attached:

BATPASSR.BIN

Edited by Steeler
  • Like 2

Fun! It seems to alternate between 260 and 261 scanlines (as accousticguitar mentioned) which is causing the picture to jump. It shouldn't be too hard to fix :)

Kirk Israel mentioned in his tutorial that the timers, which I use to determine when the two non-drawing times are done, had a margin of error... could this be the problem?

And does Stella specifically compensate for things like this, or how does it work so much better there?

Edited by Steeler

Fun! It seems to alternate between 260 and 261 scanlines (as accousticguitar mentioned) which is causing the picture to jump. It shouldn't be too hard to fix :)

Kirk Israel mentioned in his tutorial that the timers, which I use to determine when the two non-drawing times are done, had a margin of error... could this be the problem?

And does Stella specifically compensate for things like this, or how does it work so much better there?