IGNORED

The fall of Capcom (or rise)

cimerians

So happy to see them hurt after the Final Fight fiasco (yeah I can't let that one go). :P

There was another thread here saying Capcom wants to release a million more Resident Evil games, well now they may be releasing a lot of shovelware.

But I see this to be disturbing news\trend. Normally (quality) full length games take a fair amount of time to develop as well as being developed within a team that communicates very well (in house).

Just look at Blizzard, Sony Santa Monica and Valve for example.

I think Capcom hitting the panic button is making a huge and critical mistake. Cutting dev time (being a former programmer myself) by outsourcing is in no way the answer in my opinion.

I've played many trashy Wii games developed from some unknown studios etc. More games doesn't necessarily mean quality games.

I think they are in trouble. I predict they get bought in a few years.

Capcom gets kicked in the ass:

http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/lostplanet2/news.html?sid=6271505

MORE GAMES LESS TIME!:

http://www.gamespot.com/news/6271266.html

Of course I could be completely wrong and they become the next Blizzard.

i know part of their strategy to get these games out quicker is to outsource some development. that worked SO well with the reviews/sales of dark void and bionic commando (both of which i actually do like).

something like lost planet 2 actually had some effort put into it, which i also enjoyed, didn't sell.

publishers are all having a tough time but they're going about it backwards.

something like lost planet 2 actually had some effort put into it, which i also enjoyed, didn't sell.

This game interested me, and months ago I played the demo and was impressed with it. At this point however, I have WAY WAY too many other choices. (Many of them < $30.)