Jump to content



3

What are the odds this is genuine?


9 replies to this topic

#1 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Kaboomer

  • 10,282 posts
  • Location:Hollywood, Florida

Posted Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:28 PM

http://miami.craigsl...2459066648.html

I'm sure some of you die-hards may recognize this picture if it is a fake/lifted from somewhere off the web. Seems pretty cheap considering...
I did a search for his phone number on CL, and he sells a lot of stuff, including a regular 5200 with some games. He also tends to use the bait and switch bit with the "Nintendo system with games - $1", then of course you click on the listing and he wants $100 bucks or something, so right off the bat he's not the most trustworthy of people.

Anyways maybe someone in the area might be interested if it is genuine...

Edit: Nevermind...I blew up the pic a bit and it is lifted from Atarimuseum.com

Edited by jetset, Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:30 PM.


#2 Rex Dart OFFLINE  

Rex Dart

    River Patroller

  • 3,749 posts
  • NO CASH VALUE
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:47 PM

Somebody

Quote

Call me (786) 227-1320. Chris


#3 nathanallan OFFLINE  

nathanallan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,505 posts
  • Location:El Paso, TX

Posted Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:36 PM

I'd be tempted to check it out, see what is actually for sale. VERY unlikely that it is real and the guy is mistaken but it's definitely worth a look, and at $80 that is practically stealing it.

#4 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    7800 Developer

  • 5,781 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:24 AM

If the seller can provide images that don't have the www.atarimuseum.com watermark then it's probably a good deal ;). Both images of the console are taken from the top of this page :-

http://www.atarimuse...s/5200/vsx.html

#5 HatefulGravey OFFLINE  

HatefulGravey

    Stargunner

  • 1,764 posts
  • Chicken. Fight like a robot.
  • Location:Georgia

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:03 AM

Craigslist has gone to scams all over the country I see. I thought it was just my area. This makes me sad.

#6 the-topdog OFFLINE  

the-topdog

    Stargunner

  • 1,661 posts
  • Location:Washington State, USA

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:24 AM

He doesn't state that he is actually selling an Atari Video System X... he just says that he is selling an Atari system and then tells the story about how codenames were devised for the different systems. I have requested pictures of the actual system he is selling.

#7 HatefulGravey OFFLINE  

HatefulGravey

    Stargunner

  • 1,764 posts
  • Chicken. Fight like a robot.
  • Location:Georgia

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:36 AM

Well be sure to let us know how that goes. I'll bet its a dripping wet light 6er with no power supply.

#8 CRTGAMER OFFLINE  

CRTGAMER

    Chopper Commander

  • 157 posts

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:00 AM

Worth taking a look first hand if driving distance. Very likely a regular 5200, but you never know.

#9 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Kaboomer

  • 10,282 posts
  • Location:Hollywood, Florida

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:05 AM

View Postthe-topdog, on Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:24 AM, said:

He doesn't state that he is actually selling an Atari Video System X... he just says that he is selling an Atari system and then tells the story about how codenames were devised for the different systems. I have requested pictures of the actual system he is selling.

Nor does he state he is selling an Atari 5200. What he does do is strongly suggest it is an original pre-5200 Video system X and backs that up with pictures. Probably a scam. I emailed him as well requesting pictures.

#10 the-topdog OFFLINE  

the-topdog

    Stargunner

  • 1,661 posts
  • Location:Washington State, USA

Posted Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:39 AM

He replied to my request for pictures. He said he will email me some when he gets home tonight. Sounds like a nice guy so far.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users