IGNORED

Game Idea - Railz

Brian O

Hi all,

I had a game idea for a 2600 game. As I said before, I'm not a programmer, so I'm just putting this idea out there in case anyone would like to run w/ it. I'm not even sure if this is doable, or if anything like this has been done, so if it has just say so.

Game description

You control a racecar that has to move along 5 rails, horizontally. The object is to keep the car moving forward by moving from rail to rail (up or down) to avoid enemies, broken rails, and roadblocks. Player uses the joystick to move up or down from rail to rail, and can shoot enemies using the fire button. Roadblocks cannot be shot, and must be avoided. The same applies to broken rails. As the player progresses, the game speed increases, making the player have to make split second decisions when changing rails. There are also items that speed you up (which player may want to avoid if the speed is already too fast), and items that slow you down (which the player may want to get if the game is going too fast). Player loses life if they run into an enemy, roadblock, or broken rail.

Scoring

As the player moves forward, the score increases. Player could also increase score by collecting items scattered on various rails. Extra life awarded for every 20,000 points, but lives max out at 3.

That's all I have for now. I've also considered lowering the contrast between rail and background (i.e., if the player goes through a tunnel), making it harder for player to see broken rails. Also, perhaps enemies can shoot in higher levels, making player think twice about spending too much time on a rail that has a shooting enemy.

Screenshot w/ labels (please excuse the crudeness of the screenshot :) ):

kQKmC.jpg

As always, any thoughts are welcome.

Thanks!

-B

• Like 4