Jump to content



3

Watch out for PayPal scam


21 replies to this topic

#1 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    River Patroller

  • 4,064 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:38 AM

I got this email today:

Picture 10.png

I'm sure most of would know this is a scam, but I thought I'd warn all of you. I don't even have a PayPal account associated with that email address and the link goes to an exact replica of the PayPal site (though it is not the actual site).

#2 tjb OFFLINE  

tjb

    Dragonstomper

  • 991 posts
  • Let's play soccer
  • Location:San Antonio, Texas

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:31 AM

Thanks for the heads up. I used to get similar emails fairly often. It was usually painfully obvious that it was a poor attempt at phishing (i.e. misspelled words). You can forward such emails to spoof@paypal.com.


tjb





#3 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 27,238 posts
  • Location:NGC 224

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:32 AM

This is very common, I see these ALL the time. First clue is they don't use your real name in the email. Second clue is some type of link they want you to click. Third clue (and often the most obvious) is various spelling and grammatical errors. These emails would be more believable if they'd find a native English speaker to compose them. :) As always with emails of this nature, the safest thing to do is login directly to your account with a link you've saved or by typing the URL. Never by clicking the link. Most email clients will also display the URL of the link if you hover over them (or you can often right-click the link and then copy the URL to view it in a text editor or browser before visiting it).

..Al

#4 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 7,626 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Port St. Lucie, Florida

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:08 PM

Who wouldn't be drawn in by the chance to "Activer" your account? :)

#5 toptenmaterial OFFLINE  

toptenmaterial

    River Patroller

  • 2,477 posts
  • Location:Providence, RI, USA

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:48 PM

Only a matter of time before the spelling and grammer will get better

#6 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • 2,100 posts
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:00 PM

SECURITY ALERT ACTIVATION REQUIRED!

Yeah that was the first indication it was a scam lol!

#7 Stan OFFLINE  

Stan

    River Patroller

  • 2,604 posts
  • 世嘉电子智能机好极了!
  • Location:Volcan Rock

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:42 AM

Just like anything you get that looks like this for Paypal, eBay, whatever, always delete it and then go directly to the site by typing the address in instead of clicking on any links or what not. Then you'll see if it's actually legit, which it usually isn't.

#8 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • 2,100 posts
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:49 AM

Even if I was stupid enough to click the link from a scam Email (I am not lol!) I use RoboForm to store and fill in all my site logins and it knows if the site does not match the proper URL for the matching username/password login and I have tested that it works very well.

#9 Rex Dart OFFLINE  

Rex Dart

    River Patroller

  • 3,749 posts
  • NO CASH VALUE
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:16 AM

View PostAlbert, on Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:32 AM, said:

Third clue (and often the most obvious) is various spelling and grammatical errors. These emails would be more believable if they'd find a native English speaker to compose them. :)

Maybe they did :(
If only you guys could see the garbage that I see daily, written by "professionals" trying to sound business-like, but really just dropping necessary words & confusing the meanings of other words.

Edited by Rex Dart, Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:17 AM.


#10 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 12,576 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:28 AM

I click these links all the time (usually on a crap box or VM). Then when I'm at the site I just try and log in with fabricated-on-the-spot Paypal credentials (which it usually "takes"). If it comes up with an information form, I fill it up with info including randomly generated credit card information..

Name: Walker Varsha
DOB: 08-17-1967
SS: 578-23-7261
Visa: 6658-1579-2816-2164 (716)

..repeat until bored. :lol:

#11 Stan OFFLINE  

Stan

    River Patroller

  • 2,604 posts
  • 世嘉电子智能机好极了!
  • Location:Volcan Rock

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:48 AM

You can also check the header. That's usually a dead giveaway if you can read through the numbers.

#12 nopaybob OFFLINE  

nopaybob

    Star Raider

  • 61 posts
  • Location:Tipton, IN

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:04 AM

Watch out for This Ebay scam I received 2 days ago!

I forwarded this to spoof@Ebay.com and they replied that it was indeed a scam.
I have removed my email address and my name from this snag pic.

This was not a registered member and this email originated from member@Eboy.com

Posted Image

Edited by nopaybob, Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:47 PM.


#13 toptenmaterial OFFLINE  

toptenmaterial

    River Patroller

  • 2,477 posts
  • Location:Providence, RI, USA

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:13 PM

Anyone up for a good old fashioned spam writing contest?

#14 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:26 PM

This ebaY who is telling everyone tis.
Dear beloved Member,
ERROR! Ebay has lost you account credentials. Please click the link to activer you acct.

ACTIVER

Sincerely,
Evay team
© 2011 ebay Team

(seriously, click the link. There's no virus or fake eBay website. It's a surprise.)

Edited by Jr. Pac, Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:27 PM.


#15 atarinut76 OFFLINE  

atarinut76

    Moonsweeper

  • 411 posts
  • Location:Langhorne, Pa

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:41 PM

I hate to say people fall to this everyday. mostly people with new Ebay and Paypal accounts. thanks for the post and heads up Wickey. You just may have helped out a new AA member/collector from getting scammed!! :thumbsup:

#16 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:41 PM

I got one saying my American Express had a problem and asked for tons of personal info. I don't even have an Amerecan Express, I'm only 10. :lol: Same with a Chase card. Occasionally, I check my Spam folder for these and look at them for fun.

#17 Uzumaki OFFLINE  

Uzumaki

    Stargunner

  • 1,740 posts

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:24 AM

I've gotten a lot of pishing email from Paypal and eBay and from Warcraft spamming my 3 regular email accounts. The funny thing is none of that 3 email accounts are used for paypal, ebay, or warcraft. The one email account I do use for those has never gotten a single scam attempt.

#18 nopaybob OFFLINE  

nopaybob

    Star Raider

  • 61 posts
  • Location:Tipton, IN

Posted Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:11 PM

View Postnopaybob, on Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:04 AM, said:

Watch out for This Ebay scam I received 2 days ago!

I forwarded this to spoof@Ebay.com and they replied that it was indeed a scam.
I have removed my email address and my name from this snag pic.

This was not a registered member and this email originated from member@Eboy.com

Posted Image

I thought this scam here was rather creative. No mispellings other than originating from member@eboy.com, I almost clicked on the respond button since I do sell a few items on ebay. At first I assumed it was a customer that had me confused with another seller. I guessing if I would have clicked on the respond button it would have went to a relogin page for ebay, So they can steal my user and password??? I dunno really just guessing

#19 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • 26,327 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:24 PM

Click on the link and login with hundreds of fake usernames and passwords. :evil:

#20 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:34 PM

I'm serious. Click the olink on my post. :) I can't help ut notice in that spoof email, it says at the bottom:
Learn More to protect yourself from spoof (fake) emails.
I wonder where it takes you! :evil: Click it and tell us please!

#21 nopaybob OFFLINE  

nopaybob

    Star Raider

  • 61 posts
  • Location:Tipton, IN

Posted Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:37 PM

I ain't clickin $h1T

#22 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Tue Aug 2, 2011 9:25 AM

View Postnopaybob, on Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:37 PM, said:

I ain't clickin $h1T
It's epic! One hint: BIT RICK




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users