IGNORED

Looking for MP3 of Atari Booting Sound? Anyone have?

FatMagic

Hello!

AtariAge newbie here.

I was curious if anyone had a good quality recording (no background noise) of the Atari Booting/Beep sound? Many people found it annoying, but I find it nostalgic from my childhood days loading game after game on my Atari 800. An example of the sound I'm talking about can be found in this video -->

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJOLWRVbZRI

-- jump to around 17 seconds and you'll hear the sound. I love that boot sound! All the blips, sometimes the long farting type noises LOL - awesome.

Anyone have this, or can they get it in a nice format? I don't care how long the sound is. It can be 1 minute of booting. I love it!

Just curious, thanks :)

-FM

Edited by FatMagic

@FatMagic

I think the MP3's you got from Hiassoft are COOL, but not giving you what you where looking for.

The MP3's HiasSoft provided are obviously Sio sounds not created by booting from a standard 1050 or 810 drive! You do not hear the gaps between the drive seek (from block to block).

standard sio boot sounds like

bleepbleepbleepbleepbleep <gap> bleepbleepbleepbleepbleep <gap> etc.

Listen carefully and you'll notice what I mean.

The sound from Hiassoft 'standard' boot sounds more like the sound you got from a 1050 with no disk installed and the drive door in "open" position (and a zillion BOOT ERROR messages from top to bottom of screen)

Sio2SD, Sio2USB, Sio2PC and all that interfaces do sound like that. But a real diskdrive (even the ones with happy or similar upgrade) sounds different.

Since you are looking for nostalgic reasons (right?) I guess you have to wait for a real sio sound!

@Hiassoft:

Thanks anyway, I especially love the very very very high speed on Sio. That is almost as fast as my parrallel I/O of the BlackBox! It's incredible!

Btw. I can remember a movie I saw ones... If I'm right it was a scene in a space ship or other kind of vehicle