IGNORED

Favourite era and consoles

so_tough!

The era after cartridges were invented up to before the NES came out. That was a period of experimentation in game design, and it was also an era that forced a lot of creativity due to the limitations of the consoles.

• Like 2

The era after cartridges were invented up to before the NES came out. That was a period of experimentation in game design, and it was also an era that forced a lot of creativity due to the limitations of the consoles.

Word for word my thoughts, not surprisingly.

• Like 1

I had most fun with the MSX, MSX2, but those aren't consoles...

Worst: the era just after that.

I agree with that, A major game-depression for me. I started playing games again in 1999 with the PC with a voodoo2, etc, and then the Dreamcast.

Edited by roland p

I believe the most exciting time, when many mfg's were proud of the games they made - began right after the fixed-function consoles were replaced by cartridge based systems. And ended with the NES.

With the NES and beyond, the industry had changed around and had become more profit-driven than ever. Games became more generic and unimaginative than ever.. Nothing was quite as satisfying as the formative years. Sure there were a few standout titles from time to time, but nothing really earth-shattering.

The graphics race started by 3dfx was just terrible. It set a precedent in motion that games continually had to improve in presentation, but not content. And today we are left with companies coming out with a newer faster better more expensive graphics card every 3 weeks.

Edited by Keatah

I'm a 16-bit fan myself. A good mix of arcade fun and increased depth/polish. Lots of new genres popping up or gaining popularity back then too--some of them even turned out well. I'd say SNES, Neo Geo and maybe even Genesis are my favorites from then.

It was nice of GBA to remind us of the best parts of that era too.