IGNORED

Question about Playfield width/height

rcoltrane

I'm a newbie here but I've compiled my own games with Visual Batari Basic, so I've read a lot of documents, but I couldn't find an answer for my doubt.

Why I can't reach Atari 2600 full screen resolution to make my playfields larger and thinner screen rows? For example, I've taken the Breakout sample code from Batari source and I've included a wall of bricks as a playfield. But when I compile it, the wall height is too large and it doesn't reach both left/right sides of the screen. Why does that happen? Is it possible to fix or it requires a kernel tweaking?

the wall height is too large and it doesn't reach both left/right sides of the screen. Why does that happen? Is it possible to fix or it requires a kernel tweaking?

The 2600 doesn't have screen memory per se-- in essence, the graphics registers hold only one line's worth of data, so that data will be repeated on subsequent lines unless the programmer manually updates the graphics registers between one line and the next.

Furthermore, the playfield graphics registers cover only the left half of the screen, so that data will be repeated on the right half of the screen-- or reflected, depending on the playfield control register-- unless the programmer manually updates the playfield graphics registers between the left side of the screen and the right side.

The standard batari Basic kernel uses the 2600's built-in RIOT chip RAM to create screen memory for the playfield. But since there's only 128 bytes of RAM, which must be used for other things as well (the game's "user" variables, plus batari Basic's "system" variables so to speak, not to mention the stack), some compromises had to be made-- namely, there are only 12 playfield rows. However, the last row is actually "hidden" behind the score row, so you can't see it unless you scroll the playfield.