IGNORED

Requesting help in improving TIA emulation in Stella

stephena

I'm requesting help with completing the final remaining bugs in the TIA emulation in Stella. First of all, a little background and the reason I'm asking for help. I've been working on the project for many years (over a decade, in fact), and while I've made improvements to the TIA emulation, I've reached my level of understanding of the code. I can easily understand what the code is doing, just not always why. And without the why, I have no hope of making further improvements.

This request was prompted by my situation as described in another thread. Basically, I'm on the verge of burnout in this area, and would like to finally complete this part of the emulation so I can move on to other parts of the code. The alternative from my POV is to walk away from the project entirely before I burn out completely. Please help me avoid that path.

Anyway, I suspect this will be a long, ongoing thread, and that I will have to add info to it quite often, as I'm very familiar with the codebase and probably not many other people really are. So, where to begin?

Current issues with the TIA emulation

The biggest issue is changes to NUSIZx registers after drawing has already began. The core needs to track when drawing started, and then when NUSIZx is changed, update what is drawn from that point on (keeping in mind that sometimes the NUSIZx write will change the output and sometimes it won't; it depends on the timing).

There are related issues with RESPx, and I suspect for very similar reasons.

How can the code be viewed

The ideal way (and what I personally request) is to download the code from the Stella repository, set up a compile environment, and compile/run/test it. The repo (latest version) is located at https://stella.svn.sourceforge.net, and can be checked out at https://stella.svn.s...stella/trunk.

The relevant files are TIA.hxx, TIA.cxx, TIATables.hxx, and TIATables.cxx.