IGNORED

Hello, new, but...not really...

zektor800

I was actually known here as simply "zektor", but I forgot my password (it has been awhile) and the email system does not seem to be working for me...possibly I even had an old email address at that time.

Anyway, I re-registered and wanted to say "hi". I am not new in the least to Atari (been a collector of the VCS/5200/Jag for a long time, and actually sold a one of a kind proto to this site's owner), but I AM new to the 8-bits.

I did have an XEGS way back (purchased it new at Kay-Bee) but did not have it for long, or any peripherals for it for that matter. I have been thinking about the 400 and 800 series for many years, and finally made the plunge and purchased a whole slew of Atari 8-bit goods. Two 800's one 800XL, one 400, one Happy 1050, two 810's, an Atarimax SIO2PC interface, 400 disks, about two dozen carts....just a whole lot of retro computing.

I was extremely intrigued with how SIO2PC works, and cannot wait to give this a go. If any of the 400 disks I have coming are unarchived, I now have the tools to perform this task. Giving eternal life to floppies is something I feel great about doing :)

I have played many titles for the 8-bit through emulation...wow. TONS of excellent titles here. I was a C64 >NUT< in the day, and now I think I may become an Atari 8-bit nut. Everything looks so good.

I have spoken with a few nice people from this "scene", and they have been very helpful. So, just saying "hi", and glad to be a part of it all :)

Ok... you need to go back to Atarimax and purchase the MyIDE interface. It is like, $50, and it is the best $50 Multicart purchase you'll ever make. I know you've got a lot of the other stuff you need to leverage setting up a slave PC so you can access resources from it... but trust me... you're missing a critical component.

Welcome!

If you do find any un-archived disks, and want to donate dumps to Atarimania, you know where to come.

:)