AtariAge Logo LYNX
  Have You Played Atari Today? 2600|5200|7800|Lynx|Jaguar|Forums|Store  



Atari Lynx Programmers

ProgrammersBack in the days of the Atari 2600, most games were created by a single individual who did the design, programming, graphics and sound. These days it takes large teams of people many months (years!) to create a single game. But back then, if you had the skills you could program a 2600 game by yourself in a few short months (weeks!) As time passed and the capabilities of systems improved, more people were needed in order to produce a quality game.

The information provided below comes from many different sources. Some companies, such as Activision, were pretty open about who their programmers were. Others, such as Atari, kept this info in the dark (probably to keep other companies from stealing their talent!) Several classic gaming programmers have publicly spoken about their accomplishments, and for those individuals information is generally comprehensive. We also used The Giant List of Classic Game Programmers as a reference in compiling our list of programmers for Atari systems. And some games have the programmer's name listed in the manual, on the cartridge, or somewhere in the game itself.

The list below is by no means complete. For that matter, this list is only a small subset of programmers who worked on titles for Atari systems. Unfortunately, as time goes on it's likely that such information will be even harder to come by. If you know someone who worked in the classic game industry, please let us know! We'd love to hear from them and would like to fill in as many blanks as possible. And we're not just talking about programmers here, we'll also acknowledge designers, artists, musicians, and so forth.

System View:   

Steve Mitchell
Steve Marschner
Steve DeFrisco
Stephen Landrum
Stephen Jungels
Simon Ffinch
S. A. Mitchell
Roland Graf
Robert Zdybel
Rob Nicholson
Peter Engelbrite
Pete Wierzbicki
Perry Horwich
Nick Snape
Mirek Zablocki
Michael Archer
Matthias Domin
Markus Wuehl
Lucien Kleijkers
Lou Haehn
Larry Abel
Kurt Olsen
Kris N. Johnson
Ken Beckett
Kay Uwe Kaul
Karri Kaksonen
Jon Williams
Jon Leupp
John Sanderson
John May
John Hamilton
Johannes Graf
Joe Seider
Joe Jared
Jerome Strach
James Donald
Harry Dodgson
Greg Omi
Gil Colgate
Eric Ginner
Ed Schneider
Dirk Christofzik
David Ellel
David Chiles
David Axt
Dave Dies
D. Scott Williamson
Chuck Sommerville
Chris Manniex
Carl Forhan
C. F. Urquhart
Bjoern Sprueck
Bastian Schick
Andrew Harris
Al Baker